All in all, not a bad 12 days.  I gave up some things…

  • pumpkin scones and grande soy no-whip hot chocolate from Starbucks
  • pumpkin chocolate chip muffins from Whole Foods
  • chocolate bundt cake slices from the kosher deli in the building across from office
  • Flamer’s fried fish sandwiches and fries
  • chocolate chip cookies and milk after dinner
  • bagels
  • juice
  • The elevator

…and added some others:

  • The gym (only 2 days so far, but that’s better than no gym at all)
  • Yogurt with whole blueberries
  • small meals/snacks between breakfast and lunch and lunch and dinner
  • 5 flights of stairs

My new attitude inspired me to get back in the kitchen and cook – something I love to do but haven’t done with an ounce of enthusiasm since April.  I found an interesting recipe for Tuna Burgers with Wasabi Mayonnaise and gave it a whirl.  Basically, the burgers were chopped tuna filets,

with some chopped green onions, minced garlic (here’s your cue, Juan) onions and egg whites.

I roasted some potatoes for the side.

I didn’t think it was too bad.  Others were not so positive.

The crazed look might had more to do with the fact that I spent the price of a night out at the movies on a couple of slabs of tuna.

My excuse is that we had not done our usual Friday family night out, so I was within budget limits by spending a little (ok…a lot) on the tuna.   Fortunately the scary, bad man was appeased by a neighbor’s delivery of some of the best cinnamon buns on the planet.  Seriously. The buns were insanely good.  Yes, I had one.  They were impossible to resist.

So Day 13 begins in a couple of hours.  Onward and downward!

