My iPod is Dead

I killed my iPod last week.  One of my favorite toys is now nothing more than a shiny paperweight. I should have known better than to put it in such a precarious position – on the window sill and wired to the stereo on the floor below – but I was trying to keep it out of T’s reach while we enjoyed some of our favorite tunes.

So much for caution.

As soon as it hit the floor I should have known there was trouble.  The sound (thumpsplat!) was bad – really bad.   I picked it up and looked for signs of damage, feeling reassured because  the music kept on playing.   I placed it back on the sill and went on about my business.

About 15 minutes later, I heard the music stop in mid-song.  I didn’t give it a second thought.  Juan had just arrived home and I figured maybe he had turned the music down or off.   Moments later, I heard music again – a different song this time, but I still thought nothing of it.   Looking back, I was clearly in the early stages of denial.

Later that night, as I started to put my iPod back in my bag for work, I noticed the battery indicator was extremely low.  That’s when it hit me.

Something aint right.

I was positive that I had fully charged the battery the day before, but I hooked it up again anyways.

The reality check came the next morning.  My plan was to surprise T on our drive to daycare with a new iPod addition –  Boogie Wonderland (“Buh-ee Lalalaah”) by Earth Wind & Fire.  The day before the fatal tumble, I had purchased it from iTunes.  T has been  obsessed with the song since the day I showed him the Youtube video a couple of months ago.  Our Friday ritual now includes watching it…over and over and over again.

So we’re headed to daycare.  My iPod is hooked up to the car stereo, and I’m ready to reveal the big surprise.  T is in the back, already making his request.

Mewzik! Eye pod! Mewzik…Eye pod! Eye pod, Dahdee!!

I press play but nothing happens.  Actually, it lights up and I can see the song title in the display but there’s no sound and the elapsed time isn’t moving. I fiddle around some more when I get to a stoplight.  I press forward, backward and pause, but the display doesn’t change.  I can feel and hear something grinding inside.

It’s broken, T.

Eets broken. No broken.

Yep, it’s broken.

No broken, Dahdee.

It’s not working.

No werrkin, Dahdeee. Noooo!

T, it’s stuck.

Eets stuck, Dadeee.

Yep, it’s stuck.  No Boogie Wonderland.

No, Dahdee! Nooooooooooooooooooooooo!

So, my iPod is dead.  Neither one of is happy about that.  We’ll miss jamming to our favorite tunes, at least until I’m ready to cough up money for another one.  I think I’m going to have to do that today. I can’t take too many more car rides playing the same CDs that have been in the car for more than a year.

In honor of the iPod’s passing, here’s T’s Top 5 iPod favorites (determined by the number of times he says “Agen, Dahdee. Pay agen.”)

#1. Held Him First – Deyampert feat. Clover

#2. Little BirdJazzanova feat. Jose James

#3. Iambic 9 Poetry – Squarepusher

#4. Stay With Me (By the Sea) – Al Green feat John Legend

#5. Generations – Shur I Kan

